# CITY OF CHICO PLANNING COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING OF

August 18, 2022 Minutes

> Municipal Center 421 Main Street Council Chambers

Commissioners Present: Toni Scott, Chair

Richard Ober, Vice Chair

Paul Cooper Dennis Deromedi

Larry Wahl

Commissioners Absent: Bryce Goldstein

Lindsay Poulin

Staff Members Present: Brendan Vieg, Community Development Director

Bruce Ambo, AICP, Principal Planner

Kelly Murphy, Senior Planner

Nicole Acain, Administrative Assistant

# 1. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Scott called the meeting to order at 6:01 pm.

- **1.1** Chair Scott led the Pledge of Allegiance.
- **1.2** Commission members and staff were present as noted.

## 2. CONSENT AGENDA

Commissioner Ober moved to approve the minutes from the July 21, 2022, meeting.

Commissioner Deromedi seconded the motion.

The motion carried by the following vote:

AYES: Scott, Ober, Cooper, Deromedi. Wahl.

NOES: None. ABSTAIN: None.

ABSENT: Goldstein, Poulin.

## 3. BUSINESS FROM THE FLOOR

None.

## 4. PUBLIC HEARINGS

None.

#### 5. REGULAR AGENDA

**5.1** Planning Commission confirmation of denial and adoption of a resolution denying Use Permit 19-25 and Architectural Review 19-22 the TownePlace Suites Hotel proposed south of Sierra Sunrise Terrace and northeast of the intersection of Deer Creek Highway (SR 32) and Bruce Road (APN 018-230-001).

Addressing the Commission on this item were: Mark Wolfe - Applicant Jesica Giannola - Citizen Jeff Carter - Attorney

Vice Chair Ober moved that the Planning Commission recommend that the attached Resolution of the previous denial on August 18, 2022, be reviewed and adopted by the Planning Commission (see Attachment C, Denial Resolution).

The motion was carried by the following vote:

AYES: Ober, Cooper, Deromedi.

NOES: Scott, Wahl. ABSTAIN: None.

**ABSENT: Goldstein, Poulin** 

#### 6. REPORTS AND COMMUNICATION

None.

# 7. ADJOURNMENT

The meeting adjourned at 6:14 1, 2022.	pm. to the following regular meeting of Thursday, September
Date Approved	Bruce Ambo, Principal Planner
	Community Development Department /
	Planning Commission Secretary